The Wichita Wingnuts are an independent baseball team based in Wichita, Kansas. The Wingnuts are a member of the South Division of the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball.
American Association of Independent Professional Baseball
The Wingnuts play their home games at Lawrence-Dumont Stadium located at 300 S Sycamore St, Wichita, KS 67213. The Wingnuts replaced the Wichita Wranglers, the former Double-A affiliate of the Kansas City Royals. The first Wichita Wingnuts manager was Kash Beauchamp, who gained notoriety for his tirade during a game on July 9, 2008. Under Beauchamp, the Wingnuts finished the first half of 2008 in second place, but a slide in the second half left them with an overall record of 45-50 in their inaugural season. Beauchamp’s contract was not renewed at the end of the season.

Former major leaguer and Wichita State Shocker Kevin Hooper replaced Beauchamp as the manager for the 2009 season. During his first season, the Wingnuts won the first half North Division title, earning them their first trip to the playoffs, where they lost in the first round. In 2010, Lawrence-Dumont Stadium hosted the American Association All-Star Game, and the Wingnuts were named the American Association Organization of the Year. After winning the Central Division title and losing in the first round of the playoffs in 2011, the Wingnuts followed that up with another Central Division title the following year, and also won the first playoff series in franchise history, sweeping the Laredo Lemurs to advance to the American Association Championship Series against the Winnipeg Goldeyes. Wichita won the Central Division again in 2013 and defeated the Grand Prairie AirHogs in the first round, but lost to the Gary SouthShore RailCats in the Championship Series. The Wingnuts moved to the South Division in 2014, and after winning the division, defeated the Laredo Lemurs in four games and then swept the Lincoln Saltdogs to win their first American Association Championship. In Hooper’s last season at the helm, the Wingnuts won their fifth straight division title and fell to Laredo in the first round of the playoffs.

Pete Rose Jr. was brought in prior to the 2016 season to replace Hooper, who was hired by the San Diego Padres organization. In his first season, Rose helped lead the Wingnuts to their sixth straight division title. In the playoffs, Wichita knocked off the Sioux City Explorers in the first round to reach the Championship Series for the fourth time in five years, where they fell to the Winnipeg Goldeyes in five games. The Wingnuts won their seventh straight division title in 2017, and swept the Gary SouthShore RailCats in the opening round to once again meet the Goldeyes in the Championship Series. After appearing to have won Game Four to win the series, a balk was called to erase the final out and keep the game going. Winnipeg rallied to force extra innings, and the two clubs proceeded to play the longest game in league history, a 17-inning marathon that lasted five hours and 59 minutes. The Goldeyes won the game in walk-off fashion, and went on to take Game Five to win their second straight league crown.

In 2018, Brent Clevlen took over as Wingnuts manager following a record-setting playing career. For the third straight season, Wichita piled up 61 victories, including sweeps of three different season series (Sioux Falls, Texas, and Winnipeg). However, with the American Association transitioning to two divisions instead of three, the Wingnuts finished in third place in the South behind Sioux City and Kansas City, missing the playoffs for the first time since the 2010 season. The 61-39 mark was the best record for a team that did not qualify for the playoffs in league history.

Wichita Wingnuts (2008-2018)


W – L

Winning %



2008 45-50 .474 4th in North Division Did not qualify for playoffs
2009 58-38 .604 1st in North Division Won North Division First Half/Lost Division Series to Lincoln 3-2
2010 50-46 .521 3rd in North Division Did not qualify for playoffs
2011 55-45 .550 1st in Central Division Won Central Division/Lost Division Series to Grand Prairie 3-1
2012 59-41 .590 1st in Central Division Won Central Division/Won Division Series against Laredo 3-0/Lost Championship Series to Winnipeg 3-0
2013 68-32 .680 1st in Central Division Won Central Division/Won Division Series against Grand Prairie 3-0/Lost Championship Series to Gary 3-1
2014 73-27 .730 1st in South Division Won South Division/Won Division Series against Laredo 3-1/Won Championship Series against Lincoln 3-0
2015 59-41 .590 1st in South Division Won South Division/Lost to Laredo in Division Series 3-2
2016 61-39 .610 1st in South Division Won South Division/Won Division Series against Sioux City 3-1/Lost to Winnipeg 3-2 in Championship Series
2017 61-38 .616 1st in South Division Won South Division/Won Division Series against Gary 3-0/Lost to Winnipeg 3-2 in Championship Series
2018 61-39 .610 3rd in South Division Did not qualify for playoffs






  • 2009 season: Lost to Lincoln 3-2 in semifinals
  • 2011 season: Lost to Grand Prairie 3-1 in semifinals
  • 2012 season: Defeated Laredo 3-0 in semifinals; lost to Winnipeg 3-0 in championship
  • 2013 season: Defeated Grand Prairie 3-0 in semifinals; lost to Gary 3-1 in championship
  • 2014 season: Defeated Laredo 3-1 in semifinals; defeated Lincoln 3-0 to win championship
  • 2015 season: Lost to Laredo 3-2 in semifinals
  • 2016 season: Defeated Sioux City 3-1 in semifinals; lost to Winnipeg 3-2 in championship
  • 2017 season: Defeated Gary 3-0 in semifinals; lost to Winnipeg 3-2 in championship

Store no longer operational — no orders shall be fulfilled. Dismiss